I wonder why I haven’t made something like this before…

Funny thing is, I meant to have included this in Melody, but I don’t think I ever got around to it. This script allows you to adjust the height of the help window (from 1 to 4 lines), put in codes that alter colour, line breaks, put in icons, call forth variables and names, and more. Though I recall I was making something like this during the Zealous series, I encountered an issue with lag that I managed to go around this time and reduce. So far, I haven’t experienced any FPS drops past 58 FPS (which is probably due to me constantly forcing the help window to change under the most demanding measures).

And for those who want to ask why I choose 4 lines maximum, well, two reasons really. There’s only so much room on the screen that would benefit from having an expanded help window. Second reason is, in most scenes, having an expanded window means having a smaller main window. Past 4 lines, the help window becomes larger than the main window, and it feels awkward seeing that. In the end, it’s a hard limit for positive design purposes. Though, I really doubt anyone would want to have more than 2 or 3.

6 comments on “I wonder why I haven’t made something like this before…

  1. dang you! I just stumbled around for a couple hours last month getting icons (in the help) working in my game….. Now I get to undo that and use your script to see how to do it correctly :)

  2. Yanfly, I tried using the function \n[x] in the help box for this script. It doesn’t seem to be working in the script. I tried using this in a new game and it still persists. I even wrote it as \N[1], and it doesn’t seem to fix the problem. Is there something I’m doing wrong here? I don’t know what is going on that’s causing this.

Leave a Reply

