Bug Reports VII

Elsa’s not bothered…maybe.

Let’s try this again, but this time with a format! Please follow this format when giving out Bug Reports.

  • Description of the bug. Make sure to note HOW it happens and try to emulate it as much as possible.
  • List of scripts used. This is important! If you use Victor’s scripts, then it’s a given Yanfly scripts won’t work due to low compatibility.
  • Did you test it in a fresh new project? If no, then try at a new project first.
  • Did you load a save and encountered the bug there? If yes, then start a new game and see if the problem persists.
  • Did you check Yanfly’s Core first for bug fixes list? Is the bug mentioned there? If yes, then grab that script.
  • Did you read the features of the script first before assuming it’s not working like what you thought it would? If no, then read.
  • Did you try putting the script above/below other/certain scripts first? Give it a try, it might just fix it.
  • Give us a demo if possible. No need for the entire game, but just the area where it bugs out.

Hopefully this will make the bug fixing easier for everyone.

Script Updates

  • Ace Equip Engine  – Yami fixed a bug where the list doesn’t refresh when selecting a new slot.
  • Victory Aftermath Version 1.04 –  Updated to v1.04. Fixed a bug where if the battle ends with a stat buff/debuff, it will display the wrong parameters.
  • Swap Order Fix for Party System – If you want to use the script call $game_party.swap_order(n,n)
  • State Animations v1.01 – Some of the animations have been using the same reference count which results to cancelling the animation.
  • Area of Effect Add-on – Allows you to use only one animation on one target in a <one animation> spell
  • How to fix this bug?
    Go to line 312 and 313 and look for these:
    :add_buff   => “%s{“,      # Appears when a positive buff is applied.
    :add_debuff => “%s|”,      # Appears when a negative buff is applied.
    Just retype %s but don’t add { or |. There’s an invisible letter between %s{ that you can’t see unless you can see Japanese text.
88 comments on “Bug Reports VII

  1. Hey, I have some bugs with class system;
    -If I’m damaged and in a higher class lvl [lvl 99] and change to a lower [lvl 1] and keep changing, my HP goes down and if it reach 0HP I get killed.
    -The class lvl in class menu don’t show my actual lvl if it’s above 99 with adjust limits script.
    -I don’t know if this is the place for this but… If I use subclass lvlup script from ESTRIOLE, the bug with the class lvls in class menu is corrected but I get another bug .-. if I have a class with lvl 100 or above and try to put it as a subclass the game crashes and I get this message: script Class System line 654: NoMethodError ocurred. undefined method * for nil:NilClass

    The scripts I used are
    -Ace Core Engine
    -Adjust Limits
    -Class System
    -subclass lvlup from ESTRIOLE
    I tested this in a fresh new game.

    If someone could help me I will be thankfull.

    Sorry for my English. XD

      • Oh, I will try contact her. ^^

        I have read some coments on the class system page and find out that if I put the Adjust Limits script below the others I don’t receive the crash error using Estriole script but I don’t receive the bonus from the subclasses either. =/

        I tested the game only with Yanfly scripts and found out that I still don’t receive the bonus stats from the subclasses if Adjust Limits script is below the Class System script. .-.

        Oh, and thanks everyone for your work and the amasing scripts. \o

  2. I’ve been using Yanfly’s scripts only for a few months now, I like them a lot. I would like to get in touch with Yanfly, Kread-Ex and/or Yami for a few custom commission scripts and add on to an existing script. Let me know if your interested. Gabe.

      • Is Yanfly coming back? And I’m confused as to who you are. Are you a developer of RPGMaker? Or Yanfly’s translator? I’ve heard of you multiple times.

      • I’m friends with Yanfly and I help manage his blog ever since he took a break. Yanfly might come back when he feels like it, so lately we’ve been trying to manage it. Yami was here before but he got busy. And yes I’m one of the staff in RPG Maker Webs, one of the beta tester of the program, make easy to implement suggestions, etc.

        I’d say ‘Developer’ is close but not quite there.

  3. Hello! Thank you for making these scripts, I was never able to get any closer to how I want the skills to behave on any RPG Maker before! m(_ _)m

    Now for the bug report. I have encountered a minor bug on this condition:
    Using many of your script, particularly Core, Battle (with Enemy HP Bars and Elemental Popup).

    The only other external script I use is (Positioned below all of YEA scripts, but above Main):
    – Counter Attack Skills by Fomar0153
    – Fix Revival Graphics by Archeia
    – Fullscreen++ v2.2 for VX and VXace by Zeus81

    This is a quite fresh project, there are no maps except a test map as I am building the database 1st.

    Problem:
    – Dead enemies sprite lingers after being killed by a Counter Attack skill. Battle continues as normal.
    – Counter Attack skills cannot use any follow up.

    Here is the demo of the game:
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/4272178/fiction/EchoTest.zip

    Bug was found using Test Battle. The skill in question is #428 Fierce Counter (Called by state #041, caused by Skill #422) and #430 Sanguine Void (Called by state #038, caused by skill #427). Both skills are available on character #002.

    I’ll drop in once a day to check if you have a follow-up questions. Thanks before!

    OT: On a different note, can your Enemy Target Info script be altered to show more than 8 elements? I use a system of 5 weapon attribute and 12 element attributes, making 17 total (can be reduced to 16, since no one resists Void). Thanks again :D

      • Hi! Thanks for reply!

        I haven’t drop by forum to message Fomar0153, because the first problem occurs after I put on the Ace Battle Engine. When I use the script by itself (during the early development of Echo), the problem didn’t occur.

        Second problem isn’t a priority for me, but it’s just nice to be able to follow up to a skill that erases the counter buff.

  4. Ah, well, with Area of Effect, when using an AoE skill, it displays the animation multiple times, even with the one animation tag. It’s like using Water 1 multiple times.

    [And, if I may ask, for suggestion, what on something like you set the after-use animation?
    Like there’s the animation of throwing a grenade and an explosion on the original target, then each of the targets have an animation of lighting up from the blast. Or there’s a spell circle animation that is displayed against the original target, then the Fire 1 animation is played against each of the targets]

  5. Hello! On the Yanfly Victory Aftermath screen, if an Actor who had a state or buff affecting any stat(s) levels up, the stats drawn on the victory screen appear with the multipliers. For example, if an actor’s base STR is 100 and goes to 115, if that actor finished the battle with a state doubling his STR, then on the victory screen, it will display something like 200 -> 215.
    I tested this on an empty project, with nothing but Yanfly’s core and the victory aftermath script, and it is still occurring.

  6. Not sure if this qualifies as a bug or not, but if you use Change Actor Graphic during a battle the Visual Battler sprites don’t update (although I think the face does off the top of my head).

  7. I’m not sure if this qualifies as a bug or not, but when I test it on a new project with just the Core Script and Yanfly’s Party System script, when I used this script call:

    $game_party.swap_order(0, 1) [Default Ace Party swap script call ]

    It switches the party members, but for some reason the sprites doesn’t reflect the change. Do I have to use a different script call for the switch to work?

      • I don’t get what you mean when you said the ‘Formation script isn’t updated.’
        So does this mean it’s my bad setup?

      • For those interested, you have to conditional with varibles to make it work. For example, on a party of 5 your common event to move the leader back to the left should look like:
        Control Variables: [0001:party count] = party members
        Conditional branch: Variable [1:party count] == 1
        @>
        :else
        @> Conditional branch: Variable [2:party count] == 2
        @>Script: $game_party.swap_order(0,1)
        :Else
        @> Conditional branch: Variable [2:party count] == 3
        @>Script: $game_party.swap_order(0,1)
        @>Script: $game_party.swap_order(1,2)
        :Else
        @> Conditional branch: Variable [2:party count] ==4
        @>Script: $game_party.swap_order(0,1)
        @>Script: $game_party.swap_order(1,2)
        @>Script: $game_party.swap_order(2,3)
        :Else
        @> Conditional branch: Variable [2:party count] ==5
        @>Script: $game_party.swap_order(0,1)
        @>Script: $game_party.swap_order(1,2)
        @>Script: $game_party.swap_order(2,3)
        @>Script: $game_party.swap_order(3,4)

        Then basically reverse the numbers in the (n,n) to cycle the other way, binding them to the Yanfly Button Common Event L + R (Q and W keys), this will in effect give you that Breath of Fire style instant leader change.

        I’m using this paired with the variable to make certain areas or events only accessible if Actor [1] is party lead not just in the party.

        Control Variables: [1: party Leader] = Member #1’s Actor ID
        @conditional branch: [Zane] is in the party
        @conditional branch: Variable [1:party leader] == 1
        @>Fishing (im using the fishing minigame as an example here.)
        Else:
        @>Text: “Only Zane can fish here”

        This event, makes it so Zane needs to be recruited to be interact-able, but the mini game won’t start unless he is party leader (or the point, 1st spot).

        This can allow you to create a thief who can picked locked doors and chests, actors who can jump ravines, enter enemy or secret clubs, etc.

  8. Hello! There’s still a bug with State Animations that makes the animations cease if the target currently afflicted with the said state is hit by an attack that uses same frames as the state animation. I know there’s a roundabout way of using separate copies of animation sprite sheets for both State and Attack Animations, but it’s not supposed to happen so I thought I’d bring it up.

    (PS. Is the fact that Element Reflect ignores the Attack Element of normal attacks a bug or a feature?)

  9. I have problem with JP Manager. When I use item (with f.e. in notetag) only first hero gets JP even if I use that item on second hero.

  10. There are 2 display errors in Yanfly Battle Engine Ace. After %s there is a not visible [] symbol and for buff a { and for debuff a | behind. Simply changing that to the following fixed the display for me (at least i hope its a display bug):
    :add_buff => “%s+”, # Appears when a positive buff is applied.
    :add_debuff => “%s-“, # Appears when a negative buff is applied.

      • I think I know which one this is despite the image not loading lol.

        Go to line 312 and 313 and look for these:
        :add_buff => “%s{“, # Appears when a positive buff is applied.
        :add_debuff => “%s|”, # Appears when a negative buff is applied.
        Just retype %s but don’t add { or |. There’s an invisible letter between %s{ that you can’t see unless you can see Japanese text.

      • Thats what i dit.;)
        (Obviously my text was not clear.)
        I was just wondering whether the symbols where probably needed for some other stuff, but after looking into the corresponding sourcecode, and your answer, it does not seem so.

  11. “Description of the bug:”
    5th Party member in combat doesn’t have any visuals play on them. They work fine, ie: They can do things, have states applied to them, attack, be attacked, everything. But no numbers appear when they’re hurt, no visual effects play on them, popups don’t appear on them, ect.

    “List of scripts used:”
    Ace Battle Engine v1.22, Last Updated: 2012.03.04, Unedited
    I’m not using Ace Core Engine v1.09, Last Updated: 2012.02.19, but I have tested with it, and gotten the same bug.
    Game_Party line 73 WAS changed, from…
    return 4
    to
    return 5
    … to allow for a 5th party member in combat, but that’s the only change in any script, be it original or Yanfly.

    “Did you test it in a fresh new project?”
    I did.

    “Did you load a save and encountered the bug there?”
    New Game.

    “Did you check Yanfly’s Core first for bug fixes list?”
    I can’t find this bug listed. It seems really simple, so maybe there is a bug fix somewhere. But, I can’t find one.

    “Did you read the features of the script first before assuming it’s not working like what you thought it would?”
    I didn’t see anything saying 5th party member shouldn’t have

    “Did you try putting the script above/below other/certain scripts first?”
    It’s below ▼ Materials and ( Insert here ) and above ▼ Main Process.

    “Give us a demo if possible. No need for the entire game, but just the area where it bugs out.”
    Don’t know how I’d get you a demo, but this game is basically fresh out of New Project, so it’s very easy to recreate.

    • Hmm… Installing the Party System and returning Game_Party line 73 back to “return 4” seems to have fixed this. Is there any way without using the Party System, though?

      • By Default, the battle system is designed for 4 characters…So it’s not like it’s a bug. I’ll check it out later indepth though since I don’t really understand the problem. I was able to have 5 characters that move and stuff earlier.

  12. “Description of the bug:”
    I have problem with JP Manager. When I use item (with f.e. in notetag) only first hero gets JP even if I use that item on second hero.

    “List of scripts used:”
    Ace Core Engine v1.07
    Ace Skill Menu v1.01
    Learn Skill Engine v1.00
    TP Manager v1.04
    Ace Message System v1.05
    Party System v1.08
    Class System v1.10
    Class Unlock Level v1.00
    Extra Drops v1.01
    Victory Aftermath v1.03
    Ace Equip Engine v1.06
    Enemy Levels v1.02
    Equip Dynamic Stats v1.00
    JP Manager v1.00
    Ace Item Menu v1.02
    Ace Menu Engine v1.07
    Ace Shop Options v1.01
    Ace Status Menu v1.02
    Command Window Icons v1.00
    Ace Save Engine v1.03

    Problem occurs even when I have only
    Learn Skill Engine v1.00
    Class System v1.10
    JP Manager v1.00

    “Did you test it in a fresh new project?”
    Yes.

    “Did you load a save and encountered the bug there?”
    New Game.

    “Did you check Yanfly’s Core first for bug fixes list?”
    Yes.

    “Did you read the features of the script first before assuming it’s not working like what you thought it would?”
    Yes.

    “Did you try putting the script above/below other/certain scripts first?”
    Yes.

    • (…) When I use item (with f.e. ” jp gain: 200″ in notetag) only first hero gets JP even if I use that item on second hero(…)

  13. after updating to Victory Aftermath Version 1.04 the arrows in the level up screen, between the stats have been replaced with ] “

    • I gave it a temporary fix by making a getto arrow, on line 917, under draw arrow, it works for now.

      draw_text(dx, dy, 24, line_height, “–>”, 1)

      • You can also use the “real” arrow or directional characters, most of which should be displayed just fine with most fonts that aren’t extremely extravagant or uncommon:


        ▶ ► ▸
        ▷ ▻ ▹

  14. I’ve been getting 509 error on all dropbox links for a few days now, any ideas?

    When can we expect this to be fixed?

  15. What about custom icons for Buff & State Manager when you exceed 2 buffs or debuffs?
    Because I debuff to a certain point and there’s like a waterdrop icon instead, hahah.

  16. Hello there, fellas.
    I’ve come to report a little bug (I suppose it is a bug, I may be wrong).

    Script: YF Party System.
    Bug: If the SPLIT_EXP variable is set to true, dead actors will still drain EXP from the total pool.
    Scripts used: Many YF scripts, but it still happens just using the Party System script in a new project.

    I think it’s because the final_exp_rate definition does still count dead actors when doing the math. I’d fix it myself, but I don’t know how :I.

    Thanks in advance!

  17. I got a little problem here.
    I’m not sure which yanfly’s scripts that have this bug.
    the problem is in the actor’s face battle scene. after playing the game for a moment where events and stories have passed, the shape suddenly became vertical, thus, some parts are missing. strangely, this problem doesn’t occure at the beginning of the game.

    here’s the picture

    does anyone know the solution?

    Mirve

      • I’ve followed the instructions, correctly and never edit its code. Guess, I should just re-insert the scripts that seem to be involved.

      • I’ve found the problem.
        It’s in the YEA Party System script at line 98 “MAX_MEMBERS_VARIABLE”.
        the problem occured when it was set to 6. then, everything becomes normal again after I changed it back to 4.

        I think, you can set it to 6 if your YEA – Ace Core Engine line 163 “RESIZE_WIDTH” and 164 “RESIZE_HEIGHT” follows yanfly’s setting ones(which are 640 and 480) but I’m not sure. I haven’t tested it.

  18. “Description of the bug:”
    If a party member covers/substitutes damage for an ally, it will not reflect back at the opponent. It doesn’t work for either Elemental Reflect or for Magic Reflect.
    The spell reflects the damage that was targeted at them, but does not reflect the damage that the party member took for an ally.
    I’m not 100% sure if this counts as a bug, but I think it does. Elemental immunity works for substitution. Elemental absorption works. It just doesn’t make sense, logically, that a party member could jump in front of a fireball, with magic reflection on, and not reflect it back.

    “List of scripts used:”
    Ace Battle Engine v1.22
    Element Absorb v1.01
    Element Reflect v1.01
    I believe they are unedited.

    “Did you test it in a fresh new project?”
    I did.

    “Did you load a save and encountered the bug there?”
    New Game.

    “Did you check Yanfly’s Core first for bug fixes list?”
    I can’t find this bug listed.

    “Did you read the features of the script first before assuming it’s not working like what you thought it would?”
    The scripts don’t say that substitution should reflect magic. It just is inconsistent with all the other states that DO work with substitution.

    “Did you try putting the script above/below other/certain scripts first?”
    It’s below ▼ Materials and ( Insert here ) and above ▼ Main Process.

    “Give us a demo if possible. No need for the entire game, but just the area where it bugs out.”
    Here it is:
    https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BwS0iZFTZ5_8dDI0dlJVLWg3Y0k/edit
    (Just download it. I THINK it should work, but I’ve never shared RPG Maker files before, so I could be wrong.)

    Talk to the demon to start the battle. Terence has cover. Ernest has the states for dodging, absorbing, and reflecting.

  19. There are 4 Bugs in the Enemy Levels Skript.
    Basically the index values for gold and xp have to be switched.
    It has to look like this:
    Line493: per = enemy.level_growth[9][1]
    Line494: set = enemy.level_growth[9][2]
    Line505: per = enemy.level_growth[8][1]
    Line506: set = enemy.level_growth[8][2]

  20. Pingback: RGSS3 – Yanfly Scripts: Bug Fixes | Honesty Games

  21. When outside of battle, when having a skill custom cost and requirement (say that Heal III’s requirement is 12 MP and the cost is 16 MP, or you have it so that if the state Blood Magic is applied, it requires and costs a certain amount HP instead of MP), going to the Skills menu and going down to Spells will cause the game to return the error
    Script ‘Yanfly Skill Cost Manager’ line 577: NoMethodError occurred.

    undefined method ‘item’ for nil:NilClass

    Because I had it so that an actor had the move Heal III and the tags were:

    custom cost requirement
    mp >= 12
    /custom cost requirement
    custom cost perform
    self.mp -= 16
    /custom cost perform

    and it gave me that error and I also tried different variations just to make sure

    • i am sorry for less detail…
      I couldn’t track the error, it just crashes. I’m using Galv’s Bust Script, so i guess that may be a problem too. I does not happen because of the type of message background. I tried it in three. I tried changing the order. It doesn’t work. The event is triggered in the battle.

  22. I seem to have come across a bug with the Event Spawner script, where the newly spawned event would not be able to handle the event’s own actions(Erase Event, Show Animation on ‘this event’ etc.) properly. Instead, it would happen on a different event altogether.

    I was able to fix it by adding two things, however. First, make the class variable @id of the class Game_Event accessable outside, and then add the following line before line 80: @events[key_id].id = key_id

    Hopefully this will help.

  23. Hello! Not really a bug, but I was wondering if there was a way to stop the Lunatic States – Punishment script from making the “Enemy damage” or “Actor Damage” sound from playing whenever one of the slip effects happens.

    For example, I have a “regen” state tagged with these scripts, and at the end of the turn when the “regen” effect heals my party members, the “Actor damage” sound plays.

  24. I have a bugs with your skill restrictions:
    Description of the bug: Well, when i’m using your skill restrictions with MOG’s active chain, every active chain will be counted as a turn for cooldown and warm up, so if a skill have 2 cooldown, 2 active chain will make that skill refresh like normal.
    List of scripts used: Almost all of them, even battle system, is atelier’s script: http://www.atelier-rgss.com/RGSS/Demos/ACE_Master_Demo.zip. And for the active chain script, you can take if personally from there: http://www.atelier-rgss.com/RGSS/Battle/ACE_BAT20.html.
    Did you test it in a fresh new project: Yes, i did.
    Did you load a save and encountered the bug there: It’s a problem in-battle, so i don’t think save,load will have bugs.
    Did you check Yanfly’s Core first for bug fixes list? Is the bug mentioned there?: I’ve checked, and no, it’s not.
    Did you read the features of the script first before assuming it’s not working like what you thought it would? : I’ve read, but i don’t think active chain should be counted as a turn.
    Did you try putting the script above/below other/certain scripts first? : Yes, i’ve. But nothing happended, it’s still the same.

  25. Parameter Bonus Growth script Bug – Not as permanent as advertised

    Description of the bug: Rather than being permanent as advertised all bonus parameter growth connected to a class is negated if for any reason a characters levels are decreased.The amount of decrease is directly proportional to the amount of levels lost in the transaction. Changing classes which changes a characters level to 1 negates all bonuses gained up to that point.
    .
    This bug works differently when the bonus is connected to equipment or states. All equipment/state based bonus parameter growth is only negated if the equipment/state is still equipped/in effect when the level down occurs.Removing the equipment before the level modification prevents the loss of the bonus growth

    List of Scripts: Yanfly Engine Ace – Ace Core Engine v1.09, Yanfly Engine Ace – Ace Message System v1.05, and of course Yanfly Engine Ace – Parameter Bonus Growth v1.00.

    Did you test it in a fresh new project? – Yes
    Did you load a save and encountered the bug there? – No
    Did you check Yanfly’s Core first for bug fixes list? – Is the bug mentioned there? Already have it and not mentioned.
    Did you read the features of the script first before assuming it’s not working like what you thought it would? – Script specifically claims parameter growth would be permanent, not that it would be removed if the actor in questions level is reduced.
    Did you try putting the script above/below other/certain scripts first? – I have placed the Bonus Parameter Growth script as per the suggested placement.

    Give us a demo if possible – A demo shouldn’t be needed as all I did to test this was put the script in place and then place a few events that increase and decrease the level of an actor and a few that granted items and states (I just added the bonus growth to the blindness state) on a map to experiment with the problem.

  26. Description of the bug: Script ‘Windows Selectable’ line 122: ZeroDivisionError occurred

    List of scripts used: (In order) Yanfly Engine Ace – Ace Core Engine v1.09, anfly Engine Ace – Ace Battle Engine v1.22, Yami Engine Symphony – Battle Symphony, Victor Engine – Basic Module, Victor Engine – Pixel Movement, Victor Engine – Moving Platform, Victor Engine – Free Jump, Victor Engine – Rotational Turning, MOG – Battle Hud EX (v3.2), MOG – Monogatari (物語) (v1.5), MOG – MONSTER BOOK (v1.7), MOG – Scroll Bar (V1.1), Yanfly Engine Ace – Event Window v1.01, Yanfly Engine Ace – Ace Message System v1.05

    Did you test it in a fresh new project: Yes.
    Did you load a save and encountered the bug there: Haven’t gotten to a ‘Saving’ portion of the game yet. It happens in Test Battles too.
    Did you check Yanfly’s Core first for bug fixes list: I saw the fix Yanfly has for this error if you have no troops in the party–but I have one.
    Did you read the features of the script first before assuming it’s not working like what you thought it would: Yes, I have.
    Did you try putting the script above/below other/certain scripts first: I spent of a good portion of the night doing so. Removing and replacing the scripts etc.
    Give us a demo if possible: I ‘will’ if need be, but wanted to see if this was something that could be handled without it first.

  27. I’ve noticed a couple bugs involving the Free Turn Battle script that occur whenever the Death state is present.

    Ace Battle Engine, Battle Command List, Command Equip, and Free Turn Battle are the main problems. Only Yanfly scripts are used in this project.

    Problems:

    Reviving a character in FTB, then selecting him and using a skill defined in Battle Command List brings up a NoMethodError. This only appears to bug out on the Death state; Paralysis and Sleep are unaffected.

    Curing Confusion in FTB causes the actor to still Attack during the enemy’s turn if you don’t select him and choose a new skill.

    A character with multiple actions in FTB who uses a skill which then kills him allows him to still act, with several skills grayed out. Selecting something like items crashes the game.

Leave a Reply

